CIFL Results 2015

The final results are in and the Bishopdale Rovers are the winners of division 1 and the CIFL Champions for 2015. The Rovers put on a solid performance throughout the season conceding only one defeat in Round 9 Nga Toa Whakapono. This is the second time Bishopdale Rovers have won the championship after topping the table in 2013 (as Reformed Rovers).

One Way Jesus are the winners of division 2. It was a close contest this season with five teams in contention for the trophy in the final round. One Way Jesus have been with the CIFL for five years and this is their first win. Chch North are runners up finishing equal with OWJ on table points but missing out on goal difference.

The RCC Pirates win the Sportsmanship Award for 2015 finishing with a near perfect score based on thier Christian Points. Despite having the fewest points on the table, other teams found the RCC players to be the most fun and best sports. Winning this trophy also means the CIFL will be paying their game fees for the next season! I want to give an honorable mention to the following teams who all drew second place for CP: Ilam Cherubs, Nga Toa Whakapono, South City United and Chch North United.

The RCC also take the dubious reward of the Old Boot. They struggled to get the ball into the back of the net this season and finished up bottom of the table with the lowest points. They did get a bonus point in the final round and avoided the whitewash.

At the other end of the table, Bishopdale Rovers finished with 34 goals, 1 goal ahead of One Way Jesus. Thus securing the Golden Boot Award.

Congratulations and thank you to everyone who participated in the competition this year. But the season is not over yet. This weekend we’re kicking off the CIFL Sevens. The draw and location will be confirmed soon so keep your eyes on the website!